My labs are normal and I no longer have Grave’s Disease – however I now have Hashimoto’s (?)

I know I haven’t written anything in well over a year, and after reading my last post over again last night I feel really bad cause I said that I was going to be writing more, and it took me 9 months from my previous post to write THAT post. Whoops. So now I have this really guilty feeling in the pit of my stomach, like the feeling I have when it’s May and I still haven’t written out Thank You cards for Christmas gifts. I probably feel that way because I haven’t been writing, like AT ALL, for the past year and the above metaphor isn’t so much a metaphor, it’s very true, I haven’t even written friggin’ thank you cards. (Sorry Aunties and Uncles!) I just haven’t been writing.

But that’s about to change.

You all deserve an update because I’m doing great and I should really be sharing my story. Cause maybe I could actually help someone else save their thyroid too.

If you haven’t been keeping up with my story, 4 years ago I was diagnosed with Grave’s Disease and Hyperthyroidism and was told by every single doctor I saw, natural or otherwise, there was nothing I could do to help myself and that I had to “kill my thyroid” (that is a direct quote from a Doctor).

I opted not to do that because it didn’t make any fucking sense to me. I went an extreme route and found a medical medium who told me to go on a vegan, corn free diet for a year, and that the virus I had that was masquerading as hyperthyroidism would die off. I did that, and cured myself.

I followed the diet for a year. I AM NO LONGER VEGAN. If you want reasons, you can read my last post. At this time, I follow a primarily organic, vegetarian diet. I do eat cheese and eggs and corn. I also eat fish. I believe the diet saved my thyroid, in addition to me finding my voice, speaking my truth, and healing my 3rd chakra. I 100% believe there is a correlation between thyroid disease and speaking your personal truth. This is something I have struggled with my entire life. I am a recovered bulimic, a perfectionist, a people pleaser, constantly seeking other people’s approval, and not being truthful with my words for fear of not being liked for it. This character trait is DISASTROUS for your thyroid. If you are reading this and you have thyroid disease, I really want you to dig deep right now and ask yourself if you are speaking your truth. Are you living true to yourself? You can heal yourself, I promise you. It all starts and ends with you.

That is what this blog has been about.

Okay so apologies for the horrible photos below but these are my most recent labs, taken December 2015.

20160511_11363820160511_113717

20160511_113845 (1)

My most recent labs show that my thyroid is producing all hormones within a normal range. However, they also show it is still producing antibodies, even though my other numbers are normal.

The strange thing is that the antibody profile is completely different from the last time I had the test done, which was about 3 1/2 years ago.  I only had it done once before because I didn’t have insurance at the time and the test was really expensive. But that test showed I had Grave’s Disease, and this test shows I have Hashimoto’s. So I don’t really know, my current doctor is kind of confused, as am I. But the bottom line is that even though I feel great now and everything is in range, my thyroid is still basically attacking itself, and I’m not 100% in the clear. I still need to be careful with my diet and everything else because there’s always the chance the symptoms will come back.

Yes, the route I took was extreme, and I cured myself yet I’m still at risk – but I STILL HAVE MY THYROID.  And I feel awesome! And I’ve learned so much about myself throughout this whole illness. If I had to do it all over again, I would do the exact same thing.

So do me a favor, listen to your body! Ask yourself what you can do to help yourself. Have trust and faith that the path you choose is always the right one, no matter what anyone else thinks.

That’s it for now.

Love, Shauna

Leave a Reply

