I really have saved my Thyroid.

20141016_155435

Everyone who thought I was crazy for starting this diet can suck it. Seriously. Sorry, it wasn’t my intention to start off my first post in 9 months with a statement of anger, but I just really wanted to say that. I can’t even begin to tell you the number of doctors, friends, acquaintances, strangers and loved ones who berated me for sticking to my gut and trusting myself, rather than trusting a bunch of doctors who believed they knew my body better than I did. Sure I took the long way around, and yes the method I chose was definitely extreme, but look at me now! After 1.5 years on a (mostly) vegan diet, I still have my thyroid, and most of my numbers are actually IN NORMAL RANGE. Take a look at my newest labs again if you haven’t already.

If you can’t see the photo,

TSH                                              <0.006 uIU/mL

Triiodothyronine, Free, Serum       2.9  pg/mL

T4, Free (Direct)                            1.23 ng/dL

I do apologize that it has taken me so long to write an update. This year has been tumultuous to say the least. The main reason I haven’t posted in so long is because when my relationship ended, so did my health insurance. These are the first labs I’ve had done since February, simply because I wasn’t having any symptoms, and I really didn’t want to pay to get blood work done. Last month I finally got health insurance again through Obama Care, so I can now at least continue to post my future labs.

After my last post, and many situations that evolved in my personal life thereafter, I realized that there definitely is a time and a place for the truth. And sometimes the truth isn’t always the best choice for the moment. At this moment, I choose to be limited with the truths I reveal. So here are my current truths I believe you should know:

1. I am no longer vegan. I am still vegetarian but it is difficult to label my diet. Since I moved in January, a lot has changed. I try to eat as vegan as possible, but dairy has definitely worked it’s way back into my diet. I try not to eat a lot of cream and milk because it bothers my stomach, but I do eat a lot of cheese. I still avoid eggs as much as possible, but every so often, I eat something fried or some kind of baked good that I know isn’t egg-free. I also eat fish once, maybe twice a month. And I definitely eat WAY too much bread. And pizza. Living alone, I cook a lot less. And cooking for one is very different than cooking for 2 or 3. Honestly I’ve gotten really lazy, I hardly cook anymore. I started making a lot of quesadillas, grilled cheeses, salads, reheating frozen stuff, eating take-out…. that’s the truth. I’m not advocating the current diet I’m on in any way though. It’s not how I really would like to be eating. At least my thyroid isn’t suffering. But I would like to make more of an effort to cook more, I miss it.

2. I am no longer working with Anthony William. Simply because he was too busy, and I needed more attention. Through a mutual friend I found an amazing doctor who I have been working with since February named Dr. Sierra Levy. She works out of Maui, Hawaii. I speak to her on the phone, I have never actually met her in person. I don’t know how to describe what she does exactly but she is AMAZING. She is an MD, but works mainly with homeopathy and a technique she developed called Resonance Therapy. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND her for anything and everything, she is one of the most gifted healers I have ever had the pleasure of knowing.

3. I have Manic Depression. I really hate labels but I feel the need to explain that the last post I wrote was written during a manic episode. I wish I hadn’t revealed everything I revealed in that post, but it’s too late now, it’s out there. And everything I wrote was definitely true. But I read that post back now and I almost feel like someone else wrote it. It’s a really strange feeling.

Anyways.

That’s enough truth telling for 2014.

I still firmly believe I saved my thyroid by going vegan, and speaking my truth. I also believe that if I continue moving forward on a path of health, healing and staying true to myself, I will have a much better chance of staying healthy. I am not cured, by any means. My body is still producing Thyroid Peroxidase (TPO) at a very high rate, meaning I still do have Grave’s Disease, and for whatever reason my body is still basically attacking itself. But I am not in any danger at this point. Unless I start to show any symptoms I don’t have to get my labs done again for another 6 months. Even the nurse practitioner who went over my labs with me said, with my numbers at where they’re at now, she wouldn’t recommend any medication, just to watch my gluten intake and to come back in 6 months.

So my advice still remains, LISTEN TO YOUR BODY! TRUST YOURSELF! I am saving my thyroid, and so can you!

Thanks for reading.

Shauna

One thought on “I really have saved my Thyroid.

  1. This is very exciting news! I do believe there is a link between our diets and autoimmune disease. Before I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s (the opposite of what you have) I was eating and drinking lots of tofu and soy milk, foolishly believing it was good for me, and I still wonder if that’s what set it all off. Now it’s a slow road of healing and healthy eating to get back to my “factory settings”. I’m happy that you’ve been able to fight Grave’s your own way and I suppose the proof is in the result. I wish you the best of luck with your labs.

    – Rachel

Leave a Reply

