Update – Day (I lost count). So 7 months and 3 weeks later….

Hello All! Obviously it has been awhile since my last post (like 5 months or something terrible – sorry! I’ve been so busy!) and I have had so many people ask me how I’m doing, I figured I should at least take 10 minutes to give y’all an update.

So it’s been almost 8 months since I started my diet, and I have to say, I FEEL AWESOME! Since my last post, my life has changed dramatically. I moved, got a new job, 2 new jobs actually!, and got off my ass and stopped feeling sorry for myself. That was HUGE. I think the change in attitude has probably helped just as much as the diet has. As for the diet, I am still (almost 100%) vegan, BUT I am not as strict as I was in the beginning. I eat bread, I eat other gluten products, I eat out about twice a week, I have a beer every now and then, I eat (some) sugar, I drink coffee, I eat soy, and on special occasions, I cheat and have dessert that is definitely not vegan (like on Thanksgiving!). I have to give myself these lee-ways or I go crazy. Literally, months 2 thru 4 were not fun for anyone.

As for my symptoms, they are much less noticeable and for the most part I can carry on my day like any normal person. I have TONS of energy (almost too much, but I do have some manic/depressive tendencies and I’m definitely going through a manic phase right now), and I feel really good! On bad days, like if I’m working too hard and overwork myself, I’ll overheat, but not to the extent that I was overheating before. I can sit down for 10 minutes now and be OK whereas before I would sit down and not be able to get up for hours. And I’ll just get a sheen of sweat all over my body instead of dripping sweat everywhere.

Overall, I could not be happier with my progress. My labs are still whacky, my T3 and T4 are still high, but they are lower than they were when I started… not dramatically, but every time I get labs done, they are lower. My TSH is and always has been >.0006, even on/off thyroid drugs, so that is one # I have not seen change. I am scheduled to have labs done at the end of this month so when I get those numbers I will post comparison labs from now and when I started so you can all see my progress. 🙂

Ok I have to run! Wanted to say though that I purchased a book called Veganomicon, which I have been cooking from for the past 2 months and everything I have made from that book is AMAHHHHZING so if you don’t already have it, go get it! I got a used copy on Amazon for $10.

XOXOXO Shauna

@The Farm Kitchen

2 thoughts on “Update – Day (I lost count). So 7 months and 3 weeks later….

  1. Hi Shauna! I haven’t been diagnosed with anything yet, but my TSH levels have been decreasing over the last few years and I’m exhibiting some symptoms of hyperthyroidism… fatigue, faster heart rate at rest, some palpitations, I’ve lost a lot of weight (6’0″ / 135lbs). I am adamant about natural approaches. So, I also started a new diet… primarily vegan as well to hopefully slow down my thyroid activity. I’m also researching supplements and chemical imbalances that may contribute to the problem. Keep your blog active if you can! It’s great to track progress with outhers. Best wishes.

    • Hi Jonathan 🙂 Thanks so much for checking out my blog! And yes you’re totally right it’s important that I keep it active. Lately I’ve been so busy it’s been difficult to find time to write, but I will make a point to update at least once or twice once a month as I think I have some pretty valuable information to share. And people need to know there IS another option besides radiation or surgery! You CAN keep your thyroid 🙂 Best wishes to you too, I hope you are able to balance out your body out before your symptoms get any worse.

Leave a Reply

