Day 45 – Recipe: Korean Potatoes, Gamja Jolim (vegan and gluten-free)

Image

More potatoes please!

I found this recipe on Joanne Choi’s blog, Week of Menus. She has a slew of Korean, vegetarian and gluten-free recipes that look delicious. This is the second recipe I’ve tried and it turned out amazing, I could have eaten the entire pan (I almost did). The only issue I had was that my potatoes did not cook evenly because I don’t own a decent pan – I would suggest using a large cast iron skillet if you have one, or a heavy pan that you know heats evenly.

I followed Joanne’s recipe pretty much exactly, except I didn’t have any sake so I substituted a little more water. It worked just as well I think, I practically the drank the sauce out of the pan. If you want to make this recipe gluten-free, substitute tamari for the soy sauce.

This is traditionally a side dish but we ate it as a main course with sauteed broccoli and zucchini, and leftover Morrocan Carrots/Chickpeas.

Korean Soy-Cooked Potatoes

  • 2 – 3 large yukon gold potatoes, skin on, cut into small cubes  (about 2 1/2 cups)
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup filtered water (you may need more depending on the potatoes)
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce (or tamari for GF)
  • 2 tablespoons raw honey
  • 1 tablespoon sake (or water if you don’t have sake)
  • 1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon black sesame seeds for garnish

Place cut potatoes in cold water to remove excess starch. Give them a swirl in the water and drain.

Heat coconut oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat.  Add drained potatoes, onions and garlic.  Cook stirring occasionally, until the onions turn translucent, about 10 minutes. 

Add water, soy sauce, and sake to the pan.  Continue cooking, allowing the potatoes to soak up the liquids and cook, stirring occasionally to allow the potatoes to cook evenly (about 20 minutes).  

When all the liquid has evaporated, check to see if potatoes are nearly done.  The potatoes should still hold their form and be slightly firm to the bite (not mushy).  If necessary add a 1/4 cup more water and reduce. Then add honey and sesame oil, stir to coat the potatoes with the mixture.  Sprinkle sesame seeds on top.

You can serve potatoes hot, or let them cool and serve cold. Enjoy!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Day 45 – Recipe: Korean Potatoes, Gamja Jolim (vegan and gluten-free)

    • Thanks so much! It’s really hard to say. For the first 2 weeks I felt pretty good, the next 2 weeks I didn’t feel that great, the last 2 weeks I’m slowly starting to feel a positive shift. It’s not drastic by any means, but I feel like the diet is beginning to kick in. From what I understand it’s going to be between 3 and 6 months before I really start to feel better… hopefully it’s closer to 3! We shall see 🙂

    • Aww thanks Tamara! I’ve actually been feeling pretty good, how about you? I will be posting within the next 2 days – I was away from the home the last week and a half and just got back last night. Time to start cooking again 🙂

  1. Welcome back and I look forward to seeing what you come up with! Glad to hear that you are feeling good!! I am still on a bit of a roller coaster with ups and downs. Spoke to Anthony again… increased a couple of supplements and said to eat more fruit. Will keep pressing on…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

