Day 33 – Juicing Leftovers

I was planning to write about the black bean brownies I made last night but they really didn’t turn out that great, so I’m writing about juicing.

I love to juice, but like everyone else I hate cleaning the juicer. It’s a pain in the butt. I find that if I rinse it immediately after I use it, it makes the cleaning process a little easier, but it’s still a massive pain. So I usually make a juice every other day.

My favorite things to juice are the parts of the vegetable I would have thrown away – like broccoli, cilantro, kale and cauliflower stems, or celery, carrot and radish tops. It makes me feel like I am wasting less of the vegetable. I usually keep a little baggie in my fridge of parts I don’t use for cooking, eventually it all ends up going through my juicer and into my belly.

For my base, I always use the same 4 things – 4 celery stalks, 1 apple, a large hunk of ginger, and some tart citrus (either 1/2 lime or 1/4 lemon, peel on). Everything else is fair game.

On Tuesday I used leftover broccoli and celery tops:

Image

Image

Yesterday I used all of the cauliflower stems leftover from the curried cauliflower salad, as well as the cilantro stems:

ImageImage

Yum. I like to drink the foam first and pretend it’s a latte 🙂

4 thoughts on “Day 33 – Juicing Leftovers

  1. Why have I not done this?! Thanks for tip. I saw a recipe for crackers made from the leftover pulp somewhere… need to track it down. I am with you on the clean-up, it is a bit of a deterrent. Love the reference to the latte. I will savor that thought with my next glass. 🙂

    • 🙂 If you find that cracker recipe, please share! Sounds very interesting! Believe me I have self-control issues myself, aspects of this diet are very difficult for me as well. If I feel like I am being deprived I will go nuts and do something stupid. I’ve tried not to be too hard on myself this time though, after speaking to Anthony the 2nd time he kept congratulating me for not eating animal protein. When I told him I was sticking to the diet he laid out about 80% he was so happy. So he doesn’t expect perfection. That eased my mind a lot because I am a complete perfectionist. Just do the best you can, if you eat a little almond butter here and there or have a vegetable sushi roll, its OK. You’re doing great!

  2. Thank you! And thanks for that cracker recipe!! I don’t have a dehydrator either but I’ve used my oven before (on the lowest possible setting), it’s not exactly the same, but it seems to do the trick. So happy you’re trying the potato recipes, that’s awesome! And so happy they’ve been successful.

Leave a Reply

