Day 31 – Recipe: M Cafe’s Curried Cauliflower Salad

Image

If there is only one recipe you that bookmark on this blog, it should be this one. It’s a keeper. This is probably the most delicious salad I’ve ever had. Well, actually it’s a tie between this one and M Café’s Kale Salad.

This was the first M Café recipe I found online. I’ve made it a few times now and the only big thing I’ve changed from the actual recipe is the amount of salt I put in it. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it was way too salty, so much that it was inedible. It doesn’t even need half the amount of salt recipe calls for. I also only make half of the cashews because it’s kind of unnecessary to make 2 cups when the recipe only calls for a 1/2 cup.

The chopping is somewhat laborious but believe me this salad is a labor of love – you will be so happy when you’re eating it that you won’t care that it took you almost 2 hours to prepare.

So here it is, slightly adapted from the Los Angeles Times version: (here is the easier-to-read version from epicurious.com)

M Cafe’s Curried Cauliflower Salad

For the cashews:

  • 1 cup roasted, unsalted cashews
  • 1/2 tablespoon maple syrup, preferably grade B
  • scant 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • pinch sea salt

For the curried cauliflower:

  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons plus 3/4 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
  • Pinch dry mustard
  • 2 tablespoons (1/2 ounce) peeled and minced fresh ginger
  • 2.5 – 3 heads cauliflower, trimmed and cut into small florets (about 8 cups)

For the Salad

  • 3 tablespoons raw honey or agave
  • 1.5 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1.5 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • curried cauliflower
  • 1 cup fresh or previously frozen peas
  • 1/2 cup diced red bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup diced dried apricot
  • 1/2 cup curried cashews
  • 1/2 cup (1/4 bunch) roughly chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt, or to taste

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 350°F. In a medium bowl, combine the maple syrup, curry powder and salt. Toss the cashews with the spiced maple syrup, then spread again on the baking sheet. Roast for 8 – 10 minutes until fragrant and golden brown (be careful not to burn!). Remove from heat and cool well. This makes more cashews than are needed for the remainder of the recipe; the cashews can be stored at room temperature in an airtight container.
  2. Increase oven temp to 400°F. In a (very) large bowl or pot, whisk together the olive oil, curry powder, salt, cumin, coriander, mustard and ginger. Add the cauliflower florets and toss to combine and evenly coat.
  3. Spread the florets in a single layer on a baking sheet and roast until golden-brown and aromatic, 20 – 30 minutes, tossing once or twice for even cooking. Remove from heat and cool completely.
  4. For the salad: In a small bowl or measuring cup, whisk together the agave syrup, lemon juice and olive oil to form finishing syrup. Set aside.
  5. In a large bowl, toss together the cauliflower, peas, bell pepper and apricots. Pour over half of the finishing syrup and toss to combine. Stir in the cashews, cilantro and salt. Taste, adding additional finishing syrup if desired and adjusting the seasoning as needed. Cover and refrigerate a couple of hours to give the flavors time to marry before serving. This makes about 8 cups salad.

Image

Disclaimer: this is not my recipe!

I usually pour all of the dressing over the salad. The original recipe calls for less apricots but I really like them in the salad so I add more.

Make this salad ASAP!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Day 31 – Recipe: M Cafe’s Curried Cauliflower Salad

  1. This one sounds and looks really good! Will have to give it a try. I am needing more flavors in my experience. Although it is still early, are you noticing any difference yet in how you feel health wise?

  2. Definitely try it! As I said, it is time consuming but worth it. Unfortunately no, I don’t really feel that much better yet. Some days I feel better than others but there is no consistency. I talked to Anthony again yesterday and he said it is going to be 3 to 6 months before I really start feeling better. At least I’ve got 1 month down!

  3. Congrats on getting one month behind you! You inspire me… since I am only a week in on my own adventure. I am still waiting for three of my supplements to arrive but have been hitting it with what I did already receive. I have been so tired when I get home from work that my cooked meals have been limited. I did try your garlic dill potatoes and they were great! My mind has screamed for salmon and crunchy salty snacks. I’ve eaten a few too many (ok way too many) dates this week and felt a bit bloated and cranky… but it is a journey of diligence and patience. Again, congrats on your success of one month … may increased health, vitality and energy soon be your daily experience! Loving your posts!

    • Oh thank you so much you are so sweet! I relate on the dates – LOL – I can’t stop eating them myself, it’s a bit of an addiction. Especially that Barhi dates are in season now – if you haven’t tried them, OMG they are like caramel candies, so dangerous! Also relate to craving salty snacks, after eating so many dates I always crave something savory. I’ve been making celery sticks with a little spread of almond butter and some currants on top for a late snack, it’s actually really satisfying! Not as much as potato chips of course but it’s still crunchy and salty. I wish you the best of luck, I promise it gets easier! I find the best thing to do for cooked food is to make a really big portion on the weekend and eat a little of it every day for the whole week, along with something easy to prepare when you get home. That way you don’t get bored of it so quickly. The easiest things to make when you are tired are roasted vegetables, they require the least amount of work and attention. 🙂

  4. The Barhi dates sound dangerous! I have never seen or heard of them. I have been devouring the Medjool’s and, the softer and more caramel like they are the more dangerous. Anthony has suggested limiting so much that I have been afraid to touch almond butter or nuts (again, self control issues) – no beans and 1/2 cup of quinoa is to be considered a treat – yikes! I will be taking your advice and making some big portions this weekend to help in the week ahead.Your Indian spiced cauliflower and potatoes are on my list to do. Roasted vegetables are my staple … so thankful they are allowed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

