Day 25 – Spiced Millet Falafels with Tomato Relish

Image

This was good but honestly not the best thing I’ve ever made. That statement really entices you to make this doesn’t it? Lol.

I kind of followed this recipe from Goop, Millet “Falafels” with Avocado + Tomato Relish. I did change some things so it’s not quite the same recipe, I also baked them at the end cause I wanted to make sure the middle was cooked. The falafels themselves were very tasty but the biggest flaw I think was the relish – if I were to make this again, I would omit the avocado and just make a tomato relish. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE avocado, I just don’t think it worked in this recipe. Also, I would wear gloves while cutting the jalapeno. I didn’t do this yesterday and my fingers were ON FIRE for 6 hours, it was horrible. So this here is what the future me would do:

Spiced Millet Falafels with Tomato Relish

for the falafel

  • 1/2 cup raw millet, rinsed
  • sea salt to taste
  • 1/2 cup cooked unsalted chickpeas (garbanzo beans), crushed with a potato masher
  • 4 scallions, white and light green parts only, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 small jalapeno, minced (If you have sensitive skin, put on disposable gloves BEFORE chopping)
  • 2 cloves garlic, smashed and minced
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped cilantro
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 20 grinds black pepper
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • lemon wedges for garnish

for the relish

  • 1.5 cups chopped tomatoes (whatever’s best; I like Trader Joe’s High Lycopene Tomatoes)
  • 2 teaspoons chopped cilantro
  • 2 scallions, white and light green parts only, thinly sliced
  • 2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon preserved lemon peel, minced (if you don’t have preserved lemon, use 2 tsp lemon zest)
  • the other 1/2 of the jalapeno
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • Sea salt and black pepper to taste

preparation

1. Start the falafel: Combine the millet with 1½ cups of filtered water and a big pinch of a salt in a saucepan. Bring to a boil, lower the heat, cover the pot, and cook until the millet is very soft and all the liquid has been absorbed, 25 minutes.

2. Meanwhile…for the relish: Combine all the ingredients in a bowl, seasoning to taste with salt. Set aside while you finish the falafel.

3. Back to the falafel…Stir the chickpeas, scallions, cilantro, jalapeno, garlic and spices into the cooked millet. Add 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Using a potato masher, crush the mixture until it holds together a bit.

4. Preheat the oven to 350ºF and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

5. Set a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat and coat the bottom with a slick of olive oil. Using about 2 tablespoons of the mixture, make a patty by squishing into a ball and then slightly flattening between your hands. Repeat with the rest of the mixture. Put about 6 patties into the pan at a time and cook until browned and crisp, about 4 minutes per side. Set the cooked falafels on the prepared baking sheet and cook the rest of the millet mixture, adding more olive oil to the skillet if necessary.

6. Bake all patties in the oven for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and start plating.

7. Cut the lemon into wedges, squeeze a bit of juice over each falafel. Put a spoonful of relish on top of each falafel and serve immediately.
yields ~12 falafel

IMG_1610

They really were good, I would make them again. I just think that after a week of amazing M Café recipes, this didn’t compare. If I had made this at the beginning of the week, it probably would have been more impressive. I served it with a Roasted Curried Broccoli, a recipe that definitely could use some work. When I get it right I’m sure I will post it.

 

2 thoughts on “Day 25 – Spiced Millet Falafels with Tomato Relish

Leave a Reply

