Day 14 – Preserved Lemons

Image

I am ecstatic. Not only have I survived my first 2 weeks on my new diet and lost 5 lbs, but my preserved lemons are finally ready after a month of anticipation! And thankfully they are vegan so I can still eat them – I didn’t know I was going to have to go on this diet when I made them a month ago, I originally made them for a Moroccan Beef Stew recipe.

Preserved lemons are one of the most amazing things I’ve ever tasted. The first (and only) place I’ve ever had them was actually at Ken’s Creekside, the restaurant I wrote about yesterday. Mercer, the head chef, makes huge vats of them and puts them on salads and pizza. If you’ve never had them, I can’t really describe the taste because it’s so unique, but if you can imagine what a salty lemon pickle might taste like, that’s sort of it.

Preserved lemons are typically made with meyer lemons. Last month my favorite grocery store had bags of them on sale so I brought one home and browsed the internet for a recipe. I take zero credit for this one, it is not mine, I just followed it. You can find it here:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Preserved-Lemons-231570

I didn’t have any coriander seeds so I skipped that part but I put all the other spices in. Make sure you use a good salt, like sea salt or Himalayan salt.The recipe is super easy, it only takes about 10 minutes to cut and salt the lemons. The only annoying part is the waiting, because once you jar it you have to leave it on the counter for 30 days before you can open it. I didn’t have a mason jar so I just put it in an old almond butter jar, I figured if it was moldy when I opened it I would just throw it away but thankfully it was absolutely fine. I shook the jar almost every day to make sure the juices permeated all of the lemons.

Image

I think you can use the whole lemon, but I’ve only ever eaten the peel so I discarded the inner part and sliced the peel to put in my salad.

ImageImage

SO yummy!!! I’m so happy cause now I have enough lemons to put in my salad for a month. Today I put them with some butter lettuce, spinach, chopped apple and green onions. I made a light dressing with a little bit of olive oil, coconut aminos and apple cider vinegar.

Image It was so good I think I’m going to stop writing to eat another salad. šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Day 14 – Preserved Lemons

Leave a Reply

