Day 11 – Um, pretty amazing cashew “cheese” sauce

Image

I used to work at Dr. Andrew Weil’s restaurant, True Food Kitchen in Scottsdale, AZ. They have a pretty amazing sauce there called “Umami Sauce” which they put on their buffalo burger, it’s made with nutritional yeast. I went out and bought some nutritional yeast last year hoping to copy that sauce, I tried it once and it didn’t quite taste the same. Basically what I’m getting at is I had this big container of nutritional yeast in my cabinet that I didn’t know what to do with, and then I came across Vegangela.com. She has some really great recipes on her blog, but the one that struck me the most was called Best Ever Vegan Mac & Cheese. Even though I didn’t make the mac part, the cheese sauce was AMAZING. Even my boyfriend went crazy over this sauce. Since pasta (in any form) isn’t really in my diet, I put it over roasted broccoli with grape tomatoes, roasted potatoes, and quinoa. I will just say that it was so good I will probably have to make it again next week.

Image

You can find her recipe here http://www.vegangela.com/2011/04/27/best-vegan-mac-and-cheese/ I changed it very slightly only because I can’t eat corn products. This recipe made enough sauce for 4 large servings.

Best Ever Vegan Cashew Cheese Sauce

Ingredients
  • ½ cup + 2 tbsp raw cashews
  • ¼ cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp garlic powder
  • 20 grinds black pepper (or 1/8 tsp)
  • 1 ¾ cups nondairy milk (I used So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk)
  • 1.5 T Arrowroot Powder (or cornstarch)
  • ¼ cup coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp light (yellow or white) miso paste
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
Instructions
  1. Place cashews in a large-sized bowl of the food processor and finely grind–just don’t let the cashews turn to a paste. Add nutritional yeast, onion powder, salt, garlic powder, and pepper. Pulse three more times to blend in spices.
  2. In a heavy saucepan, combine milk and coconut oil. Bring to a simmer over high heat. Make a slurry out of arrowroot powder and 1 T cold water. Add to saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Once sauce has thickened, remove from heat.
  3. With the food processor running, gradually add milk/oil mixture to cashew/nutritional yeast mixture. Blend for 2 minutes or until smooth and creamy. Next blend in miso and lemon juice.
  4. Pour over whatever you desire!
Adapted from Vegangela who adapted it from Epicurean Vegan, who adapted it from The Vegan Table

Since I used coconut oil and coconut milk, the sauce had a somewhat coconut-y flavor but I still thought it was delicious. Not exactly like cheese but extremely tasty. I would even say better than Umami Sauce… just don’t tell Dr. Weil.

 

 

One thought on “Day 11 – Um, pretty amazing cashew “cheese” sauce

Leave a Reply

