Day 4 – Raw Curried Cabbage Salad

I just got back from an eye exam and they dilated my eyes, so I can hardly see but I’m going to do my best to get through this entry! Please forgive me of any typos, if I can see them I will fix them.

So today I took my supplements a little differently than yesterday and it was a much more pleasant experience. Putting the Spirulina in my smoothie definitely helped, even though it turned the whole thing black. I was so scared to try it but it really wasn’t that bad, I just couldn’t look at it while I drank it.

I know it’s only been 4 days but I’m definitely sinking into the rhythm of this diet. It’s been fun experimenting with new recipes and trying to figure out how the hell to make vegetable entrees more interesting. I’m still looking for ideas though, so if you have any, don’t hesitate to throw them out there!

Since I’m limited to only raw fruits and veggies during the day, I tried to recreate this Curried Cabbage Salad that I’d eaten previously and really liked. My parents live in Sedona and the grocery store I always go to there is called New Frontiers – it’s like a small Whole Foods. They have a really great little deli in the back with lots of vegan and raw salads and entrees. I tried this cabbage salad one day and kept the label in hopes to one day recreate it at home. Well, now seemed like the perfect opportunity!

I Googled “Raw Curried Cabbage Salad” and found something pretty close to what I wanted to make, so I changed it up a little and this is what I came up with:

Image

Raw Curried Cabbage Salad

Ingredients

  • ~2 lbs head of green cabbage, chopped into small pieces
  • 1/2 bunch green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut flakes or chips (unsweetened, and raw)
  • juice of 2 lemons
  • 2 T cold-pressed olive oil
  • 3 T coconut aminos
  • 2 T black sesame seeds
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger

Directions

In a large bowl (or pot), toss together first 3 ingredients. Whisk the remaining ingredients in a small bowl. Pour dressing over cabbage mixture and toss, making sure the cabbage is evenly coated. If possible, chill for at least an hour or overnight to let the flavors blend and the cabbage break down.

Image

That’s it! It was so good, I ate 2 big bowls of it. Since I’m not really supposed to have a lot of oil in my diet, I lessened the olive oil and increased the lemon juice. If you don’t really like lemon, you probably won’t like this salad, but if you do it’s a winner.

2 thoughts on “Day 4 – Raw Curried Cabbage Salad

  1. Sounds delicious, can’t wait to try! I made your quiona recipe you posted the other day, a winner, thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

