Day 1

It is Monday. For some reason yesterday’s post came in with today’s date, I guess I wrote it late last night so that’s why, but today, April 29, is officially day 1 of my vegan diet.

So I woke up late, embarrassingly late but hey at least I got out of bed. I took my dog for a walk and it was so damn hot outside that I overheated. The high today in Chandler was 101 and to me it felt about 105. Because of the Grave’s disease I tend to run hotter than everyone else so obviously I don’t handle the heat that well. Thankfully I didn’t throw up after the walk, so that’s a plus.

I made a smoothie for breakfast with 4 ice cubes, 1/4 cup frozen raspberries, 4 fresh strawberries, 1 ripe banana, 1/4 cup almond milk, and about 1.5 cups cold filtered water. I did miss the vanilla Raw Meal powder I usually put in it – I omitted it because even though it tastes good there is something in it that was giving me stomach problems – but my stomach was very thankful I didn’t use it. I felt great after I drank this one with just the fruit. It was a bit tart, but it was refreshing and quite a pretty color. I would post a photo of it but the one I took really wasn’t that great so hopefully I’ll get a better one tomorrow.

For lunch I made a big salad with a raw date/orange dressing that Anthony had suggested. I did a little web search and came up with my own variation, which was so tasty I licked the bowl.Image

I used 5 really soft dates, 3 mandarin oranges, 1 meyer lemon, and a handful of basil from the plant growing in my kitchen. I juiced the oranges and the lemon in my omega juicer, then blended the dates and the basil with the juice. It was a little thick and didn’t exactly look appetizing but it was delicious. Next time I might use 1 more orange.

Image

So there you can see my salad, lots of fresh veggies and avocado. And the strange looking yet amazing dressing. I can’t wait to eat it again! So far so good.

Leave a Reply

